YarnTalk Episode 3

Heidi, Leah and Allyson talk summer knits in this episode. Heidi unpacks the math behind one man’s journey to create a knitted short film. Allyson interviews designer Emma Welford. Leah and Allyson tag team the summer trend of lace panels in knitting. And all three ladies share what they can’t wait to cast on right now.

Video intro by Dan Hartley Video: https://vimeo.com/danhartley

Knitting in the News
Story found via http://www.fastcodesign.com/3047248/this-guy-is-knitting-every-frame-of-a-movie-into-a-watchable-scarf
Greg Climer’s media used with permission. Learn more about his knitted film project: http://www.index-and-site.org/?p=300

Designer Crush – Emma Welford
Ravelry page http://www.ravelry.com/designers/emma-welford
Just Beachy http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/just-beachy-2
Holla Back Tank http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/holla-back-tank
Lecanora http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lecanora
Gothic Gloves http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gothic-gloves
Coronation Tank http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/coronation-tank

Trends
Alcomar by Hanna Maciejewska http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/alcomar
Holla Back Tank by Emma Welford http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/holla-back-tank
Lake Huron Wrap by Allyson Dykhuizen http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lake-huron-wrap
Western Slope Tee by Quenna Lee http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/western-slope-tee
Blue Columbine Cardigan by Mari Chiba http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/blue-columbine-cardigan

Can’t Wait to Cast On
Backbone by Kirsten Singer http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/backbone-2
Greco by Courtney Spainhower http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/greco-2
Eastbourne Sweater by Emma Welford http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/eastbourne-sweater

Music
“Vivacity” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

YarnTalk Episode 2

Heidi, Leah and Allyson headed to The National Needlearts Association’s Needlearts Tradeshow, May 29 – June 1, 2015 to see the best the industry has to offer. Inspired by innovative designs, products and people, here’s a look at what it’s like at TNNA.

 

Video Credits

Video intro by Dan Hartley Video: https://vimeo.com/danhartley

Can’t Wait to Cast On designers photos:
Midtown by Carina Spencer: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/midtown-2
Berroco Maya Yarn: original photos by Allyson Dykhuizen
Carnelian Tunic by Faina Goberstein: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/carnelian-3

TNNA Fashion Show photos:
Cape Vertigo by Leah Coccari-Swift: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cape-vertigo
Original photos by Allyson Dykhuizen taken at TNNA summer 2015. If your design is pictured and you would like to be tagged, please leave a comment or email yarntalkshow-at-gmail – many of the designs from the show were not yet released when this video was uploaded, so we’d LOVE to credit you when the designs are available! 🙂

Music:
“Daily Beetle” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

YarnTalk Episode 1

Three knitwear designers, Allyson Dykhuizen, Heidi Gustad & Leah Coccari-Swift have joined forces to bring you YarnTalk. Tune in twice a month for the latest news, trends and interviews with fascinating designers. Want to get in on the Talk? Subscribe, leave a comment, or share online with #yarntalk!

Video credits

Video intro by Dan Hartley Video: https://vimeo.com/danhartley

Knitting in the News article: http://www.detroitnews.com/story/opinion/columnists/jocelynn-brown/2015/05/14/rheumatalogist-crocheter/27323311/

Knitting Trends photos:
breibeest/flickr squares https://flic.kr/p/2PqjDM
breibeest/flickr top https://flic.kr/p/35Hj6a
word ridden/flickr https://flic.kr/p/4p2mTo
annethelibrarian/flickr https://flic.kr/p/iZqxyE

Can’t Wait to Cast On & Designer Crush patterns & photos:
Darley Cardigan by Ruth-Garcia Alcantud http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/darley-cardigan
Falling Leaves Onesie by CJ Alice Jomes http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/falling-leaves-onesie
Eleve Pullover by Sarah Hurwitz http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/eleve-pullover
http://www.interweavestore.com/knitscene-summer-2015

Music:
“Life of Riley” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/