YarnTalk Episode 5

Allyson, Heidi and Leah talk to a favorite designer and more in this episode. Allyson interviews designer Courtney Spainhower. Heidi shares the story of a man who knit himself out of homelessness. Leah makes the case for brioche knitting in any season. And all three ladies share what they can’t wait to cast on.

**Video intro by Dan Hartley Video: https://vimeo.com/danhartley

**Knitting in the News**
Gregory Patrick’s blog, Mad Man Knitting
https://madmanknitting.wordpress.com/

Articles that put him on our radar:
http://bungalower.com/2015/06/will-knit-for-food-author-knits-himself-out-of-homelessness/
https://www.yahoo.com/makers/will-knit-for-food-crafting-literally-saves-123155753715.html

**Designer Crush – Courtney Spainhower**
Ravelry page http://www.ravelry.com/designers/courtney-spainhower

Greco by Courtney Spainhower
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/greco-2

Caldwell Pullover by Courtney Spainhower
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/caldwell-pullover

The Slant Cowl by Courtney Spainhower
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-slant-cowl

Waking Tide Pullover by Courtney Spainhower
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/waking-tide-pullover

**Trends**
Chevron Deep-V Pullover by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/chevron-deep-v-pullover

Willow by Nancy Marchant
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/willow-32

Wander Which Way by Meaghan Schmaltz
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/wander-which-way

**Can’t Wait to Cast On**
Magic City Henley by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/magic-city-henley

Quills Arrow Shawl by Courtney Spainhower
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/quills-arrow-shawl

Shawl Shrug by Susanne Sommer
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/shawl-shrug

**Music**
“Daily Beetle” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

YarnTalk Episode 3

Heidi, Leah and Allyson talk summer knits in this episode. Heidi unpacks the math behind one man’s journey to create a knitted short film. Allyson interviews designer Emma Welford. Leah and Allyson tag team the summer trend of lace panels in knitting. And all three ladies share what they can’t wait to cast on right now.

Video intro by Dan Hartley Video: https://vimeo.com/danhartley

Knitting in the News
Story found via http://www.fastcodesign.com/3047248/this-guy-is-knitting-every-frame-of-a-movie-into-a-watchable-scarf
Greg Climer’s media used with permission. Learn more about his knitted film project: http://www.index-and-site.org/?p=300

Designer Crush – Emma Welford
Ravelry page http://www.ravelry.com/designers/emma-welford
Just Beachy http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/just-beachy-2
Holla Back Tank http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/holla-back-tank
Lecanora http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lecanora
Gothic Gloves http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/gothic-gloves
Coronation Tank http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/coronation-tank

Trends
Alcomar by Hanna Maciejewska http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/alcomar
Holla Back Tank by Emma Welford http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/holla-back-tank
Lake Huron Wrap by Allyson Dykhuizen http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lake-huron-wrap
Western Slope Tee by Quenna Lee http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/western-slope-tee
Blue Columbine Cardigan by Mari Chiba http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/blue-columbine-cardigan

Can’t Wait to Cast On
Backbone by Kirsten Singer http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/backbone-2
Greco by Courtney Spainhower http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/greco-2
Eastbourne Sweater by Emma Welford http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/eastbourne-sweater

Music
“Vivacity” Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/